winrest.blogg.se

Masterwriter vs scrivener
Masterwriter vs scrivener








  1. #Masterwriter vs scrivener trial
  2. #Masterwriter vs scrivener windows

When done, the card would “flip back over” to the picture side. But if I double-click the index card, it will give me ruled lines again (the equivalent of writing on the back of the card). Normally, the cards have ruled lines for text, but I chose to add a picture (it’s easier for me to keep up with my characters that way). If I had more, they would show up here so I can see all of my characters at a glance. Here is a single character entry on the corkboard. The files are easily duplicated, so you can put your protagonist’s info into each novel’s character folder. That will help you keep straight who is supposed to be there (or not). But if you have multiple novels going at the same time, you may want to move them around.įor instance, you may want one character folder per novel and have it contain all of the characters who will appear in that novel. If I only had one novel going, then they would be best where they are now. See the Characters and Places folders under my novel folders? Those came with my NaNo template (more on that later).

#Masterwriter vs scrivener windows

(Just like all Windows files, you can Ctrl + select or Shift + select to highlight multiple files, so you can take all the docs and folders that you need at one time.) Character Development Have a chapter/scene in one book that needs to be moved to another one? Drag and drop, baby! It’s that simple.īut what if you put a bunch of novels into one project, but decide later that you want them to have their own project (as I will want to do post-NaNo)? Create a new project, then drag and drop all the folders you want from one Scrivener window to the other. For instance, I think it would be a good idea to have an Acceptance Trilogy project, with each novel having its own folder.

masterwriter vs scrivener

However, there are advantages to putting related books into one project. Under normal circumstances, I don’t think you would want to have your entire writing career in a single Scrivener project. Each is either an entire chapter or a piece of one (a scene). My word count (more on that below) is pooled from all of these folders. So my Scrivener project is entitled “NaNo 2012.” You can see in the above picture that I then divided it into folders–one for each novel I’m currently working on. I decided to follow Wallace’s advice and just write whatever and count it all towards NaNo (also known as being a NaNo Rebel). (Yeah, they need to be edited/written, but not at this moment!) Instead, my brain seems to be filled with nothing but ideas for my Acceptance sequels. This makes it really easy to reorder chapters.Īs I have lamented already, my dystopian novel has been proving reluctant to form itself. You can drag these cards around and rearrange them them here, and it will be reflected in the sidebar.

masterwriter vs scrivener

You can write brief summaries on the cards to help you remember what that document is about. When you have a folder (or the project) selected, you see your sub-documents as index cards on a corkboard.

masterwriter vs scrivener

you can drag and drop things within it and organize it however you want with folders. With some document-specific exceptions, it works like the file view in Windows–i.e. You can see the folder organization in the left-hand panel. (Open the image in a new tab/window so you can see it better.) Let me show you how it works (and why you might want to get it for yourself): It’s taken a few days, but it’s grown on me.

#Masterwriter vs scrivener trial

I’ve never taken the time to use it before, but I thought I might try the free trial this year.

masterwriter vs scrivener

Scrivener has been partnering with NaNoWriMo for several years (at least since 2009, when I started NaNering) to offer discounts on their software.










Masterwriter vs scrivener